2023 No Pro – Winner!

Well that was about as good as we could have possibly imagined.

You need a lot of things to fall  into place to host and run a successful surf comp. Good organisation, good prizes, good vibes but most importantly, a little bit of luck. 

The 2023 No Pro was blessed with it all and sandwiched between two wild, stormy September days we awoke on Saturday to find lovely surf and decent weather. A miracle. 

There are so many people that we need to thank. The competitors who threw themselves into it with enthusiasm without being hyper-competitive and the army of volunteers who willingly gave their time to help put on this event. Special thanks go to Gab, Billy and Freddie from Gwithian Academy of Surfing, Evan, Harry & Finn from the RNLI, Dave Foster (a former English Surfing Champion who came down from London to judge), Tristan Easterbrook, Scraps, Milky (Hayle based tuna fisherman who provided the ice for the cooler!) and Alex and Max from Gwithian Farm Campsite over the road. We also have to mention Head Chef Reuben for the stupendous curries he put on for the competitors and Dan for his endless patience. 

A huge shout out to our sponsors. 

Down the Line Surf Co in Hayle started the No Pro event back in 1994 and we are proud to carry on with their good work. They provided us with some sensational prizes that were very well received by the finalists,  discount codes for all competitors as well as all important logistical help with putting on the event. 

St Ives Brewery kept us well lubricated throughout the event and kindly lent us their Pop Up Tents to keep the sun off the judges and Harry from Deray Apparel ( a young Cornish surf company) who chipped in with some prizes as well as judging. Competitors were also grateful to receive a weekend of free camping at Prosper House Camping as well as gallons of Marlish Spring Water from Sam Savage.

We also have to mention Sue Nicholls at Cornwall Council. She is the unsung hero of this event who works tirelessly in the background to make sure that we are able to use the beach with the permission of the National Trust and other beach owners. Without her there would be no event at all.

See y’all next year!


1st Jordan Retallack

2nd Josh Daniel

3rd Rory Mason

4th Dylan Langley


1st Alexandra Hussan

2nd Poppy Barlow

3rd Lisa Woodruff

4th Tilly Theobald

U16 Boys

1st Rueben Dyer

2nd Finley Doyle

3rd George Rule-Hodson

4th Joel Kite

U16 Girls

1st Arabella Peres

2nd Bella Savage

3rd Evie Rosignoll

4th Sophia George

5th Kaliea Peres